Literacy Story – Class Project

Ripple Poetry

For Aunty Pat Ellis

Writin’ that day
that special day
nostalgic with tears

walkin’ past middens
Koori kitchens to childhood
kitchens nostalgic with tears

pickin’ up a shell
and rememberin’ teachings
of the old days

“put it back where it was
leave it there”

I know the old ways
’cause I did what I was s’posed to
sat down and listened

Seen a crow following us
it’s some Elder comin’
with us as we walk

my eldest daughter’s peelin’
back the layers of a rock
like a potato

the day is peelin’ back

an’ there’s
a giant hand holding up the
roof of the cave
we go into

something just something

what a day
what a joyous day

an’ I see a saw
reminds me of me Dad
cuttin’ the wood
and me brother’s markin’ out
where the trees to fall

an’ it’s the kinda
day you wanna write about

View original post 21 more words

Leave a Reply

