A Reflection on Hands…

Aquarium1

As I look through themes of my photographs I am struck by how many times there are images of hands.  Hands hold the world.

sand hands1

Hands pick things up and feel textures.
Hard and soft, leathery and smooth.
Hands can be both.
They can nurture and destroy.

handrocks2sat

daligirl8

Hands create things, taking them from the imagination onto a canvas.
They do this by their power to hold, grasp, let go, and hang on.

So for a while I will reflect on the power of hands. Next I will think of the cliches of hands and beyond the cliches of hands. How can one use the images of hands in art, poetry and writing in a way that is new?

(c) June Perkins, all rights reserved, images and words.

6 thoughts on “A Reflection on Hands…

  1. My computer is being impossibly slow and will only load the first photo – its beautiful. I’ll try and remember to come back and look at the other images when my computer speeds up next week.

  2. We don’t give much thought to our hands as we go through life, but they are so important in so many ways. Besides the obvious work-a-day duties, they are the tools that interpret the mind, that broadcast our creativity so that it can be shared. I look forward to more from you on this subject.

    Vi

  3. Oops, I made a mistake and posted this at the other site. Sorry ’bout that. Here is what I wrote:

    True is the word of a poet. Your words are exquisite. Your image is beautiful…a study in green…the color of Nature herself.

    Vi

  4. your images are so beautifully constructed – you have a real gift. much food for thought in this piece too, thank you.

  5. I love the Jewel Song, Hands – I am learning to sing it, but we did a cliche busting workshop the other day and I am going to apply it to my work and see if it makes a difference. Will let you know more about it later.

  6. thankyou for your visit Vi and Almurta, and Jill for your encouraging and sensitive words. Sorry the photos took a while for you to load Almurta (:

    Hope you get a chance to come back later, I took more photos of hands on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

