Inside I am

seed

Inside I am a tree

I want to spring forth

And grow throughout the nine planes

 

I know that there are many lands at my feet

Frost lands and Tropical lands

And many will form in my branches

I spread shade far and wide

 

I filter the light

 

The hawk waits to hide herself in my branches

She is waiting for my journey upward

To become a canopy separating earth and sky

 

I wait

 

Inside I am tall and I will reach

My hands up and from them will

Spring leaves

 

Leaves of books, leaves of learning

Leaves to sing and rustle all the music

Of my birth

 

Inside I am a tree.

 

 

© image and words June Perkins

 

This was inspired by a prompt at a Soulfood site on the cosmic egg and creation stories.

 

http://enchanteur.wordpress.com/cosmic-egg-new-beginning/

 

3 thoughts on “Inside I am

  1. I am reminded of the hopes and dreams I have for my children as I read these words. watching and waiting as they flourish into young adulthood.

    thank you,

    Colleen

  2. Thanks for leaving a comment on the blog Colleen, I had a look at your blog it looks very interesting – with beautiful art work and words.

Leave a Reply

